Homemade Paleo Mayonnaise

I make this every week now. It’s such a great feeling to eat homemade mayo, because store-bought condiments are probably the foods which contain the highest number of additives altogether. This one? Three ingredients, plus flavoring of choice. As commercial mayo is often intense in flavor (very acidic, etc.), you now have the choice to make it as mild or intense as you see fit. I like it quite mild, cause then I can eat a lot at once and it feels good, good, good to know you’re eating plenty of healthy fats!

Majones2

The recipe is originally inspired by Sébastien Noël, author of The Paleo Recipe Book and the blog Paleo Diet Lifestyle, but I’ve customized it somewhat to my own taste – which I encourage you to do for yourself.

  • 2 – 4 egg yolks. It actually depends on your blender how much you’ll need. I have a real powerful wand mixer, and the emulsion happens easily, so I use as many yolks as I can.
  • 6 – 8 dl oil. I use 50/50 extra virgin olive oil and coconut oil. I’ve come to prefer this because I love olive oil as an ingredient, and good quality coconut oil gives a slight coconut taste to the mayo – not for everyone, but I love it! Plus coconut is real healthy, many sources say these days. If you’re interested in paleo, you should avoid a number of vegetable oils like soy bean oil.
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • flavoring – I normally use mustard/mustard powder, salt & pepper and finely chopped herbs.

Put the egg yolks and lemon juice in a blender (or other suitable container, if you’re using a wand mixer). Whisk lightly. The trick now is to produce the emulsion of the oil and egg yolks. You’ll need to start dripping the oil slowly into the eggs while constantly whisking. If you do it too fast, the oil and eggs won’t blend properly, and you’ll have to discard the mixture and start again. This can be a bit of a body coordination experiment (and I am not good with multitasking), but I have now found something that works: I fill a glass bottle with 50/50 olive and coconut oil, seal it with this type of handy cork, keep my wand mixer in my left hand and the bottle in my right, and start adding the oil drop by drop. When you see your mixture thicken, the critical point of the process has passed and you can add larger quantities of oil at once. And what a delight to see real mayonnaise forming before you eyes! The more oil you add, the thicker the result.

Don’t be discouraged if you can’t make it thicken on your first try – you’ll get a feeling with it real quick! My first “mayo” was just a pulp of olive oil with some egg yolk submarines. But hey, maybe you’ll have better luck than me!

Finally, add flavor of choice to taste. Serve this with … well, practically anything. I throw a generous dollop on most of my dinners at the moment, really. But that’s because I’m so hooked.

Mayo ingredientsMy crafty Oil Blending Bottle

Right: My crafty Oil Blending Bottle

Wish I had three hands ... wait what?

Wish I had three hands … wait what?

Majones

One of my favorite meals right now is simply burgers made out of gras fed beef (I happen to be so lucky that I live on a farm with wholly gras fed Scottish Highland Cattle, with almost unlimited supply to the world’s best beef!), a fresh seasonal salad with a good homemade dressing, bacon, and homemade mayo and homemade pesto on the side. Yummy!

3 comments

  1. Oh yes 🙂 De har det til salgs også, så hvis du noengang er i Lier-/Drammenområdet, kan du stikke innom Renskaug Vertsgård og kjøpe med noen karbonader og pølser av grasfora kyr. Bra kjøtt!

Leave a Reply

