Paleo Chocolate Cupcakes

This recipe is stolen from Elana’s Pantry, a site I newly discovered and highly recommend! Elana and her son were diagnosed with celiac disease, and she’s been gluten free ever since. She wanted to create gluten free substitutes which were just as delicious, maybe even better than their originals. On top of that she has done tons of research and created recipes for people with all kinds of needs and preferences. She has a very extensive paleo section, and speaks warmly of the diet. She says: “As a lifelong athlete I have personally found that Paleo diet recipes provide superior nutrition for athletic performance.”

The eggs and the baking soda make the cupcakes as fluffy as any baked with flour, and the coconut adds a great texture and taste. I about tripled Elana’s recipe, but the ratios are the same. I’m used to the metric system (which in my subjective opinion is, ahem, far superior), so you need to convert to imperial yourself.

  • Paleo Cupcakes 12 dl coconut flour
  • 2 dl 100% cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 12 large eggs
  • 2 dl coconut oil (melted)
  • 2.5 dl (about 16 tbsp) honey

Preheat oven to 180°C. Mix dry ingredients first, then pulse in wet ingredients with a food processor or wand mixer. Spread the batter into muffin moulds (25 – 30 in my case). Bake for 15 – 18 minutes.

Also check out Elana’s amazing frosting to go with the muffins, you’ll find it here!

2013-01-16 13.58.392013-01-16 13.59.53

2013-01-16 13.57.572013-01-16 13.59.06

These cupcakes really surprised me, as I have never cared much for anything chocolatey-floury. I just didn’t like it all that much. In fact, I never cared much for baking as such; I was always more of a dinner person. I thought. But will you look at that. I ate at least four of these treasures every day! What does it mean? I’ll tell you what I think. I think that every time I ate chocolate cakes in the past, I felt bad after, I just didn’t attribute it to the cake. It wasn’t really the taste, it was the fact that they made me subtly sick. After these muffins, my stomach felt whole and satisfied. I might even have overdone the gobbling a bit because of the joy that came of this – they do contain a lot of honey, and though honey is the permitted sweetener in the paleo diet, it is mostly glucose and should be eaten with moderation. But I didn’t care right now, this was too good to be true.

I firmly believe that although most of us don’t have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, gluten is still quite unhealthy. Paleo followers say that of all the bad constituents in grains, gluten is probably the worst offender. Apparently 30% of the population has a certain gluten-induced type of antibody in their stools, which means they have a low level of chronic gut inflammation. Inflammation is not supposed to happen under normal circumstances, and is the source of many diseases.

3 comments

    1. De er kjempegode 😀 Som sagt, så har jeg ikke gluten-intoleranse (så vidt jeg vet), men føler meg mye bedre etter å ha spist disse enn vanlige hvete-muffins. Spiser nesten ingenting som inneholder korn lenger 🙂

Leave a Reply

